Is this a human resources major or a concentration?
Eight of the ten degrees below are named for human resource management or are business degrees with an HR management major. CUNY School of Professional Studies awards a BA in Human Relations rather than an HR major, and LSU Shreveport is a concentration. It awards a BS in Management & Administration with a 12-credit HR concentration, inside a degree that also requires a 30-credit business core and a nine-credit management core. Three of the four concentration courses are prescribed: labor law, staffing organizations, and training and development (LSUS degree structure).
Compare the required HR coursework, not just the rate. A concentration puts fewer HR courses on your transcript; a major spreads HR content across more required classes. Some curricula are mapped to the Society for Human Resource Management’s curriculum guidebook. That describes coursework and does not confer an HR certification.
How the programs compare
The estimate multiplies each per-credit rate by the credits you enter as accepted and adds confirmed per-credit fees. One-time charges are listed separately. No total is shown because none of the eight schools publishes a complete fee list. Fees, transfer limits and conditional rates for each school are in the notes under the table.
- Trine: 120-credit BSBA, HR major, $299/credit (year not stated).
- LSU Shreveport: 120-credit management BS, $306/credit (year not stated). The rate and the school’s whole-program estimate do not reconcile, so treat $306 as a planning figure.
- Lamar: 120-credit BBA in HR management, $314/credit (year not stated). The rate includes university fees, and a $25 application fee is charged.
- Metro State: 120-credit HR management BS, $322/credit, 2026–27, plus $42.30/credit in standard course fees and a $20 graduation fee.
- SNHU: 120-credit HR management BS, $354/credit, 2026–27, plus a $100 graduation conferral fee.
- American Public University: 120-credit HR management BA, $360/credit standard rate (year not stated). It charges a $350 graduation fee, $0 admission and a $0 per-course technology fee. The 10% Opportunity Grant is automatic, and the table shows the pre-grant rate.
- Northwest Missouri: 120-credit HR management BS, $368/credit (year not stated), plus $39 per required course and a proctored assessment charge. The number of courses you have left changes the total.
- CSU Global: 120-credit HR management BS, $385/credit, 2026–27, with $0 student fees and a $25 application charge unless waived. Books are not included.
- CUNY School of Professional Studies: 120-credit BA in Human Relations, not an HR management major, $305/credit for fully online programs for New York State residents ($3,465 per semester at 12+ credits) and $350/credit for other states, 2026–27; per-term fees are listed separately.
- Western Illinois: 120-semester-hour BBA in Business Administration with an HR Management option, $350.10/credit (Plan B, US students) plus $101.56/credit mandatory fees in fall and spring, 2026–27.
Other ways schools charge
Georgia Southwestern delivers its HR management BBA online through the eMajor format. Its 2026–27 schedule prices eMajor courses at $201 per credit and eCore at $161. Students enrolled only online also pay a $303 online learning fee at three or more credits, or a $73 technology fee at one or two. These online rates require 100% online enrollment: add an on-campus course and you are billed by residency. Proctored tests cost extra (GSW online rates, 2026–27). The schedule does not say which HR courses carry which rate, so neither figure is a whole-degree price.
WGU charges $3,850 per six-month term rather than per credit, and lists 39 courses (WGU term price). If you finish faster, you pay for fewer terms. Your total depends on your pace and on which courses WGU accepts from earlier work.
Transfer credit and prerequisites
LSU Shreveport accepts up to 75% of its 120-credit degree in transfer (90 credits). No more than 60 of those may come from two-year or community colleges, and at least 30 of the final 40 term hours must be earned at LSUS (LSUS transfer rules). Where your credits came from changes how much of the ceiling you can use. The degree is delivered 100% online, so “earned at LSUS” is not a campus-attendance requirement.
Questions to ask before you apply
- Ask each school, in writing, for a transfer-credit evaluation against this specific degree and the minimum number of credits you must earn there. A transfer ceiling is a maximum, not a promise.
- Ask for every mandatory fee attached to the terms and courses that remain. For Georgia Southwestern, also ask for the required course mix and a semester plan.
- Conditional rates, such as military, veteran, first-responder and employer rates, depend on eligibility the school confirms itself.
- Aid changes what you pay, not the published rate. Start with our FAFSA guide and compare each school’s written aid offer.
Read the methodology for how the estimate is built.
Are these schools accredited?
9 of 10 schools here have an institutional accreditor on record:
- Higher Learning Commission: American Public University, Colorado State University Global, Metropolitan State University, Northwest Missouri State University, Trine University, Western Illinois University
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges: Lamar University, Louisiana State University in Shreveport
- New England Commission of Higher Education: Southern New Hampshire University
Ask the remaining schools for their accreditation.
Program-specific accreditation, such as for business or counseling programs, is separate; check it on each program's page.
Jobs and pay in human resources
National figures from O*NET OnLine for everyone in each occupation, not graduates of these programs. Some of these jobs require a license, experience or a different degree.
| Occupation | Median annual pay (2025) | Projected growth (2025-2035) |
|---|---|---|
| Human Resources Specialists | $75,940 | Faster than average (5% to 6%) |
| Compensation, Benefits, and Job Analysis Specialists | $78,210 | Faster than average (5% to 6%) |
| Training and Development Specialists | $69,280 | Much faster than average (7% or higher) |
Sources
Explore the official program pages and price information.
- College Navigator: American Public University System (accreditation)National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · Checked 2026-10-15
- College Navigator: Colorado State University Global (accreditation)National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · Checked 2026-10-15
- College Navigator: Lamar University (accreditation)National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · Checked 2026-10-15
- College Navigator: Louisiana State University-Shreveport (accreditation)National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · Checked 2026-10-15
- College Navigator: Metropolitan State University (accreditation)National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · Checked 2026-10-15
- College Navigator: Northwest Missouri State University (accreditation)National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · Checked 2026-10-15
- College Navigator: Southern New Hampshire University (accreditation)National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · Checked 2026-10-15
- College Navigator: Trine University (accreditation)National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · Checked 2026-10-15
- College Navigator: Western Illinois University (accreditation)National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education · Checked 2026-10-15
- American Public University online BA in Human Resource ManagementAmerican Public University · Checked 2026-10-12
- American Public University tuition and feesAmerican Public University · Checked 2026-10-13
- CSU Global online BS in Human Resource ManagementColorado State University Global · Checked 2026-10-12
- CUNY School of Professional Studies — Human Relations BA catalog entryCUNY School of Professional Studies · Checked 2026-10-17
- CUNY School of Professional Studies — BA in Human Relations (program page)CUNY School of Professional Studies · Checked 2026-10-14
- CUNY School of Professional Studies — undergraduate tuition ratesCUNY School of Professional Studies · Checked 2026-10-14 · rate table headed 'Effective January 2023', presented under 'Rates for 2026-27'
- CUNY School of Professional Studies — tuition and feesCUNY School of Professional Studies · Checked 2026-10-14 · Rates for 2026-27
- Georgia Southwestern online Human Resource Management BBAGeorgia Southwestern State University · Checked 2026-10-12
- Georgia Southwestern online tuition, 2026–2027Georgia Southwestern State University · Checked 2026-10-12 · 2026–2027
- Lamar online BBA Human Resource ManagementLamar University · Checked 2026-10-12
- Colorado State University Global: transfer credit limits for bachelor's studentsColorado State University Global · Checked 2026-10-13
- Lamar University online BBA Human Resource Management: admission application feeLamar University · Checked 2026-10-13
- Metropolitan State University: itemised other fees including the graduation feeMetropolitan State University · Checked 2026-10-13
- LSU Shreveport online Management and Administration HR concentrationLouisiana State University Shreveport / LSU Online · Checked 2026-10-13
- Metro State Human Resource Management BSMetropolitan State University · Checked 2026-10-12
- Northwest Missouri online BS in Human Resource ManagementNorthwest Missouri State University · Checked 2026-10-12
- SNHU online BS in Human Resource ManagementSouthern New Hampshire University · Checked 2026-10-12
- Trine online BSBA Human Resource ManagementTrine University · Checked 2026-10-12
- WGU online Human Resource Management degreeWestern Governors University · Checked 2026-10-12
- Western Illinois University — 2025-2026 undergraduate catalog (Business Administration)Western Illinois University · Checked 2026-10-14 · 2025-2026 Undergraduate Catalog
- Western Illinois University — mandatory fees for Macomb, Quad Cities and online classesWestern Illinois University · Checked 2026-10-14
- Western Illinois University — online degree programsWestern Illinois University · Checked 2026-10-14
- Western Illinois University — tuition Plan B (Fall 2026–Summer 2027)Western Illinois University · Checked 2026-10-14 · Plan B - Fall 2026, Spring 2027, Summer 2027
- Colorado State University Global: tuition and costsColorado State University Global · Checked 2026-10-12 · 2026–2027
- Metropolitan State University: tuition and student feesMetropolitan State University · Checked 2026-10-12 · 2026–2027
- Georgia Southwestern online rates and fees, 2026–2027Georgia Southwestern State University · Checked 2026-10-13 · 2026–2027
- Lamar University online BBA Human Resource Management: rate and application chargeLamar University · Checked 2026-10-13
- LSU Shreveport online Management & Administration degree with a Human Resources Management concentrationLouisiana State University Shreveport / LSU Online · Checked 2026-10-13
- Trine University online BSBA with a Human Resource Management majorTrine University · Checked 2026-10-13
- WGU online Human Resource Management degree: term pricingWestern Governors University · Checked 2026-10-13
- O*NET OnLine: Human Resources Specialists (13-1071.00)O*NET OnLine, U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration · Checked 2026-10-15 · 2025 wage data; 2025-2035 projections
- O*NET OnLine: Compensation, Benefits, and Job Analysis Specialists (13-1141.00)O*NET OnLine, U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration · Checked 2026-10-15 · 2025 wage data; 2025-2035 projections
- O*NET OnLine: Training and Development Specialists (13-1151.00)O*NET OnLine, U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration · Checked 2026-10-15 · 2025 wage data; 2025-2035 projections
- SNHU online tuition and fees, 2026–2027Southern New Hampshire University · Checked 2026-10-12 · 2026–2027
- SNHU online undergraduate transfer-credit policySouthern New Hampshire University · Checked 2026-10-12
Our methodology