Colleges to explore
New Jersey community colleges price by county, not just by state, so your first question is which tier you fall into. Each row gives the route the school serves and the price basis it publishes. These are published rates, not whole-degree totals.
| College | Best for | Published price |
|---|---|---|
| Camden County College | South-Jersey community college; associate degree or transfer. | In-county $220.00 per credit; out-of-county and out-of-state $230.00; out-of-country $259.00. No academic year stated. |
| Mercer County Community College | Central-Jersey community college; transfer and workforce programs. | Summer 2026 - Spring 2027: $260.55 per credit in county; $420.25 out-of-county; $450.85 out-of-state. |
| Rutgers University | Public university across New Brunswick, Newark and Camden. | 2026-2027: $15,381 a year in state, plus campus fees. Part-time $496 per credit in Arts and Sciences. |
| Thomas Edison State University | Public online university for adult learners. | August 2026 term: $449 per credit in state, $584 out-of-state, or a flat rate at 9 or more credits. |
Conditions that change what you pay
- Camden County College: being a New Jersey resident does not pick your rate. Its in-county rate of $220.00 per credit applies to county residents, while another New Jersey county pays $230.00, the same as an out-of-state resident. The schedule PDF does not state which academic year it covers — confirm the rates for your term. Its tuition payment worksheet makes you pick your own residency tier and add up course fees yourself.
- Mercer County Community College: the in-county rate applies only if you “have resided in New Jersey for 12 months and maintain a permanent residence in Mercer County.” A New Jersey resident living outside Mercer County pays more unless the college approves a chargeback, which requires a properly signed Certification of Inability to Admit from your home county college plus Certification of Residency forms. Special course and lab fees sit outside the per-credit rate.
- Rutgers: the annual tuition figure is an annual amount, not a per-credit rate, and the fee level depends on your campus — the page lists $4,008+ for one campus, $3,829 on another table and $3,275+ on another. The part-time rates above are for the School of Arts and Sciences only, and non-residents pay $1,197 per credit hour on the same part-time basis.
- Thomas Edison State University: the flat rate is listed by residency — $3,595 for New Jersey residents and $4,652 for out-of-state — and the page attaches the “Includes Pennsylvania residents” note to the $449 per-credit rate, not to the flat rate. The flat-rate plan “does not apply to nonmatriculated, nursing, military or graduate-program students.” Registering for fewer than 9 credits a term keeps you on per-credit billing, and degree-seeking students on that plan must complete 15 credits through Thomas Edison State University online, Guided Study or e-Pack courses. Per-credit tuition does not cover textbooks or course materials, and the rates are subject to change.
Know who administers the award before you count on it
New Jersey’s aid reaches students through campuses and through the Higher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA) rather than through one state office, so the first question is who administers the award you are counting on.
New Jersey state aid: read this before you budget
Two things on the state’s own pages matter for your budget.
The Secretary of Higher Education does not pay students. Its grant opportunities page states that the office does not award financial aid directly to students; the listed opportunities are for institutions, which leverage funding for purposes that include student supports. Grants such as the Hunger-Free Campus Grant, Adult Transition grants, and AI Readiness grant are institutional awards funded by the annual state budget. They may reduce what an institution charges; they are not a payment to you.
The Educational Opportunity Fund (EOF) is a campus-based program created in 1968 for low-income New Jersey residents from economically and educationally disadvantaged backgrounds. It provides supplemental financial aid for costs — books, fees, room and board — not covered by the state’s Tuition Aid Grant (TAG). Two structural details matter:
- EOF operates through campuses at 28 public and 12 independent institutions; the state directs you to contact the EOF Program Director at your college of interest. If your target college is not an EOF institution, the program does not reach you.
- Eligibility is set by the EOF Board, not by the web page: the Board sets policy, approves regulations for program operation and student eligibility, and develops the annual budget request.
The state page does not publish an EOF dollar amount, so check any figure you see elsewhere with the campus program director.
Student grants such as the Tuition Aid Grant (TAG) and the Community College Opportunity Grant (CCOG) are run by the Higher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), not by the Secretary of Higher Education. Check HESAA’s current rules for TAG award amounts.
For CCOG, HESAA’s program page lists New Jersey residents with an adjusted gross income of $0 to $65,000. It is a last-dollar grant: it covers remaining tuition and approved fees, up to 18 credits per term, only after other grants and scholarships are applied. The same page attaches these limits:
- you must take at least 6 credits per semester at a New Jersey community college;
- you must not already hold a college degree;
- if you attend outside your home county, only in-county tuition and fees are covered, and the extra out-of-county charge is yours;
- you must file the FAFSA or the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application each year by the state deadline.
The page shows no academic year for the income range, so check it again before you apply. Nothing on it guarantees an award.
New Jersey county community college pricing
Camden County College’s published tuition schedule prices per credit in four separate residency tiers. The schedule does not say which academic year it covers, so confirm the rates with the college for your term. Note that its in-state rate is not a single rate — the first column below is a county tier, not a state tier:
| Camden County College (year not stated) | Tuition | Facility fee | General service fee | Published total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| In-county residents | $150.00 / credit | $10.00 / credit | $60.00 / credit | $220.00 / credit |
| Out-of-county residents (New Jersey) | $160.00 / credit | $10.00 / credit | $60.00 / credit | $230.00 / credit |
| Out-of-state residents | $160.00 / credit | $10.00 / credit | $60.00 / credit | $230.00 / credit |
| Out-of-country residents | $199.00 / credit | $10.00 / credit | $60.00 / credit | $259.00 / credit |
At this college, an out-of-county New Jersey resident pays the same per-credit total as an out-of-state resident, so a single “New Jersey resident rate” does not exist here. CCOG would cover only the in-county rate for an out-of-county student.
Other charges in the same document do not follow the per-credit unit, so they do not scale with credits:
- Per course: Online Courses $40.00 per course
- Per contact hour: an Hourly Instruction Charge of $65.00 for each contact hour beyond the course’s credits, where the course offering lists one
- Per semester: LPN Nursing Fee (NUR.CT) $767.00 per semester; LPN-RN Nursing Fee (NUR.AS) $750.00 per semester
- One-time or per request: Transcript Fee $12.00 per request; Duplicate Diploma Fee $22.00 without cover; Graduation Fee $30.00; Installment Plan Fee varies
Camden’s tuition payment worksheet makes the residency question the student’s to answer, listing Camden County Resident ($150.00/credit), Out-of-County Resident ($160.00/credit), and International Student ($199.00/credit). It also asks you to total program fees yourself, because course fees are listed next to credits in the course offerings. The college reserves the right to change tuition and fees at any time by action of the Board of Trustees.
What to do next in New Jersey
- If you are at a community college, establish your county tier and residency before comparing prices; the tier can be worth more than the in-state/out-of-state difference.
- If you live in New Jersey but outside the county of your community college, ask that college whether a chargeback would apply to you and what paperwork it needs.
- If you need books, fees or housing help, check whether your target campus is an EOF institution and contact that program director directly.
- Budget the per-course and one-time charges separately; they do not scale with credits.
Sources
Explore the official program pages and price information.
- Tuition and Fees (Credit Courses)Mercer County Community College · Checked 2026-10-14 · Effective Summer 2026 - Spring 2027
- Tuition and Fees | Undergraduate AdmissionsRutgers, The State University of New Jersey · Checked 2026-10-14 · 2026-2027
- Degrees and ProgramsThomas Edison State University · Checked 2026-10-14
- Undergraduate Tuition for Non-Military and Veteran StudentsThomas Edison State University · Checked 2026-10-14 · effective August 2026 term
- Tuition and Other Costs (Camden County College PDF, file Tuition-Fees-FY261)Camden County College · Checked 2026-10-13
- Tuition payment worksheetCamden County College · Checked 2026-10-12
- Educational Opportunity Fund programNew Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education · Checked 2026-10-12
- Community College Opportunity Grant (CCOG)New Jersey Higher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA) · Checked 2026-10-13
- Grant opportunitiesNew Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education · Checked 2026-10-12
Our methodology